Auto News

Tata Venture: Tata Motors’ Maruti Omni’s Slayer


Tata Venture

Tata Venture

The Tata Venture MPV, launched yesterday at the 2010 Indian Auto Expo is one of Tata Motors’ three launches at the Auto Expo. This Mini Van, based on the Tata Winger platform is suitably condensed to seat 5 to 8 passengers depending on the configuration. Codenamed the Pelican before it’s launch, the Venture MPV’s biggest strong point apart from it’s cavernous space is the engine it comes with. The Tata Venture MPV will share the tried and tested 1.4L Indica engine which produces 70bhp of peak power at 4500rpm and 135Nm of peak torque at 2500rpm.

The Indirect Injection, turbo charged and inter-cooled power plant will transmit power through a five speed transmission. This engine will propel the Tata Venture to an impressive top speed of over 125km/hr. Also, the Venture features slider doors very similar to that of it’s elder sibling Winger and the Maruti Omni. The Venture measures 3.9m in length, 1.5m in width rounded off by it’s 1.8m height. This will make the Tata Venture small enough to be bought by city slickers too while the cabbies will eagerly buy the Tata Venture which promises to be a great highway people mover.

The interiors too get a decent deal with with a two-tone beige and black theme along with dual heating ventilation and air-conditioning (HVAC) through the effective roof-mounted ducts. This, along with standard features like a power steering, power windows, reverse parking aid, keyless entry with engine immobiliser and rear wipers make the Tata Venture a feature rich MPV that drivers will love too. The Tata Venture’s safety features include a collapsible steering system and side impact beams. All these features makes the Tata Venture a compelling MPV to watch out for.

Recommended for you


  1. Pingback: First hand pics of Tata Venture Photos from the 2010 Indian Auto Expo | Indian Cars & Motorcycles Blog

  2. Nirmal

    January 14, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    Its looks good and looks like a mini bus. But we have to know abt the vehicle mileage, maintenance etc. I have a suggestion why the tata can’t restart the production of tata Sierra?


  3. chetan agrawal

    January 17, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    i want to know price of tata venture & launching date & milege

  4. chetan agrawal

    January 17, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    i want to know all detail of tata venture

  5. K R Vaishampayan

    January 23, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    Venture looks quite promising. But what’s the price? KRV

  6. Altaf

    January 29, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    This is indeed looks quite power packed to compete with the Omni, but if it has to really take over the market, then it has to be competitively priced on par with Omni. I Read in a website that it will be priced close to 4 to 5 Lakhs, which makes the Omni still the crowned king as far as the mini van segment is concerned, as it offers the comfort and options of 8 seater. TATA must bring down the price to 2.5 to 3 Lakhs in order to compete with Omni. Lets see how this works out, it going to be pretty tough i guess and interesting.

  7. Eknath Rao

    February 11, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    One must remember that GM (Wuling)will come out with this type of vehicles and will be priced less than Rs3 lakhs.So Tata has to price the Venture well to gain the first come advantage. Hope they price it well because its a well made car and should have a sizeable market share.

  8. Stephep

    February 17, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    looks good ,what`s the price and mileage


    March 8, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    can you say what is the price of the new tata venture

  10. Thomas Mathew

    April 10, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    Venture seems to be another choice in line with Maruti Omni or Eeco and GM Wuling; yet the decision could swing in terms of its prising. Hence Tata should break the silence. Nevertheless Maruti acted in time…..

  11. Manappa

    October 9, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    Dear Sir,
    I am Indian working in abroad as my plan I advised to my wife to book for Marti Omni car, but my wife himself told me to book your product of TATA Venture car.
    After some day I asked about that price, she could not find that, so, request your management to send the price of Tata Venture car price list. Because my life partner chosen your product.

    Our budget is Rs 2 to 3.5 lacks including delivery charge

  12. suyog

    October 15, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    Tata Venture is a diesel vehicles with mileage of 13 km/l. and also the Ex showroom price varies from 4 lac to 5.25 lacs.

  13. Jay

    October 19, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Dear Sir
    I want to buy new car like Marti Eeco, but when I search on net regarding new car launched so I find the GM sunshine. The sunshine is much better to Marti Eeco. But I see the TATA VENTURE is coming soon so I like and I am interested this baste car.. so please help me when is it coming in Gujarat market. I want to need all details of TATA venture please provide me..

  14. Ravan_the Bad Man

    December 23, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    I Really Don’t like the head light’s of this vehicle
    So UGLY, i hate Tata for- ‘The way they make the head light’s of all the Tata cars… is sm useless & FREE advise for u guys….Try to make it on International Stantards… that it can win sm
    Designing awards too in INDIA…ehehehh..

  15. Arun Sebastian

    January 7, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    Sir, when will the tata venture come to the kerala market. ?

  16. Anil Patil

    January 7, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    TATA is very late, let see how it works against Omni. The engine is more powered than Omni. Omni has 800 CC and it has 1400 CC. really great.

  17. Jay Prashanth

    January 7, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    Dear Readers,

    You might want to read Team IndianCarsBikes’s latest post on the Tata Venture.



  18. satish kumar

    March 5, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    A MPV with tall stance which is very strange for the people

  19. Ketan Mehta

    April 4, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    Where can v see this in mumbai and delivery period

  20. Rajeev Banerjee

    May 7, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    Venture looks great.Price & milage please.

  21. Nagaraj

    May 9, 2011 at 11:39 pm

    It seems the Venture has only 4 doors including the rear door, this means the door at the right side behind the driver is missing :( which is similar to Tata Ace Magic. This is really absurd. I would definitely not compromise on this. Do you expect people to stand in a queue to get in?

  22. nuthan

    July 11, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    :laugh: :camera: :coins: what is the mening of badedil

  23. sangay

    September 2, 2011 at 8:42 am

    Dear sir
    may i keno cost of TATA venture?

  24. Joseph J. D'Souza

    October 3, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    I would like To know the price of the vehicle. The colors avail. Is it readily avail in the market or has it a waiting period. Also let me know the mileage.

  25. rahul

    July 19, 2012 at 10:02 pm

    the car is not having much engine has the same engine which was in the tata indigo marina which my father used earlier..the power is only 1.3

  26. gulshan bajaj

    September 24, 2012 at 11:56 am

    i love vanture.

  27. raj

    January 19, 2013 at 9:09 am

    i want to tata venture, please give van maintanace ,malege, tata venture on road price ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>