2017 F1 Italian Grand Prix: Hamilton wins comfortably

A dominant showing by Mercedes at the 2017 Formula 1 Italian Grand Prix with Hamilton and Bottas taking a comfortable 1-2 win.

Much to the dismay of Ferrari fans at the Monza circuit, Mercedes took a comfortable win. The fans had a consolation gift of Vettel coming in third and the fact that it was a battle lost, but a war to win later. Hamilton now leads the 2017 F1 Driver’s Championship by three points now.

The race as it happened

Hamilton had a clean start blocking Stroll to lead the race. Verstappen was the biggest winner at the start moving up to 8th after starting on softs, but his streak of bad luck continued after he came in contact with Massa resulting in a puncture and dropping down the grid. Ricciardo who also started on the same tyre had a splendid race, pulling off some good overtakes.

Raikkonen and Bottas traded places at the start, but the Merc Finn managed to pull it back and then pull away from the Ferraris and the others to move into 2nd. Vettel then took three places back, taking teammate, Stroll and Ocon. Hulkenberg was the first of the regulars to pit and swap the supersofts for softs.

Ocon and Raikkonen were the next to pit for softs dropping them down the order. Stroll pitted next but lost a position after a slow pit stop. Palmer and Alonso were going at it for track position and the Brit got a five place grid penalty after leaving the track and gaining advantage.

At the front, Hamilton and Bottas are moving ahead with a 9 second gap to Vettel. The race ended with the gap at close to 36 seconds. Raikkonen moved past Ocon to take fifth as the the three front runners pit for softs to come out with no change in position. Perex who was running in 4th pitted to come out at 9th.

The two Red Bulls put on supersofts to go on the charge towards the end. Verstappen managed to score a single point in the end. Ricciardo pulled a couple of spectacular overtakes but the pass of the day was on Raikkonen to go up fourth. He managed to track down Vettel, but ran out of laps and couldn’t fight for the podium. There was a midfield battle towards the end as well with the Force Indias and Williams, but it finished as it started with Ocon, Stroll, Massa and Perez finishing 6th to 9th.

Next race is Singapore in two weeks time and looks to be a happy hunting ground of Ferrari. But seeing Red Bull’s pace today, things might not be that straightforward for the Italian outfit.
Pos Driver Team Engine Time
1 united_kingdom Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Mercedes 1:15’32.310
2 finland Valtteri Bottas Mercedes Mercedes 4.471
3 germany Sebastian Vettel Ferrari Ferrari 36.317
4 australia Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull TAG 40.335
5 finland Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari Ferrari 60.082
6 france Esteban Ocon Force India Mercedes 71.528
7 canada Lance Stroll Williams Mercedes 74.156
8 brazil Felipe Massa Williams Mercedes 74.834
9 mexico Sergio Perez Force India Mercedes 75.276
10 netherlands Max Verstappen Red Bull TAG 1 lap
11 denmark Kevin Magnussen Haas Ferrari 1 lap
12 russia Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso Renault 1 lap
13 germany Nico Hulkenberg Renault Renault 1 lap
14 spain Carlos Sainz Jr. Toro Rosso Renault 1 lap
15 france Romain Grosjean Haas Ferrari 1 lap
16 germany Pascal Wehrlein Sauber Ferrari 2 laps
spain Fernando Alonso McLaren Honda
sweden Marcus Ericsson Sauber Ferrari
belgium Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren Honda
united_kingdom Jolyon Palmer Renault Renault

2017 F1 Driver’s Championship 

Pos Driver Points
1 Lewis Hamilton 238
2 Sebastian Vettel 235
3 Valtteri Bottas 197
4 Daniel Ricciardo 144
5 Kimi Raikkonen 138
6 Max Verstappen 68
7 Sergio Perez 58
8 Esteban Ocon 55
9 Carlos Sainz 36
10 Nico Hulkenberg 34
11 Felipe Massa 31
12 Lance Stroll 24
13 Romain Grosjean 24
14 Kevin Magnussen 11
15 Fernando Alonso 10
16 Pascal Wehrlein 5
17 Daniil Kvyat 4
18 Stoffel Vandoorne 1
19 Jolyon Palmer 0
20 Marcus Ericsson 0
21 Antonio Giovinazzi 0

2017 Formula 1 Constructor’s Championship

Pos Team Points
1 Mercedes 435
2 Ferrari 373
3 Red Bull/Renault 212
4 Force India/Mercedes 113
5 Williams/Mercedes 55
6 Toro Rosso/Renault 40
7 Haas/Ferrari 35
8 Renault 34
9 McLaren/Honda 11
10 Sauber/Ferrari 5

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *