2017 F1 Russian GP: Ferrari look to be the fastest after FP3

After Free Practice 3 Ferrari are still on top with Vettel setting the fastest time ahead of the Mercedes duo.

Vettel set the fastest time of Free Practice 3 with a 1m 34.001s followed by Raikkonen making it another Ferrari one two finish after the previous sessions. Mercedes still have a gap to Ferrari but we will have to wait for qualifying to see the true pace of the cars.

Ultra softs were the tyres of choice with the fastest tyre helping everyone set the fastest times. Free Practice 3 usually helps the drivers get their qualifying runs right, so no softs and super softs here.

Red Bulls don’t look that competitive here as the gap to the front runners is about 1.5 seconds. Verstappen managed to put in faster lap times than his teammate Ricciardo who was 8th fastest, with Massa and Hulkenberg separating the two Red Bulls. Sainz and Magnussen make the top ten.

Home boy Kvyat is yet to break into the top ten and is still down in 13th. Both McLaren had an incident free session and were able to set some laps to get valuable running data. The two Saubers took the last two places on the grid.

Qualifying should give the final picture on who has been hiding their true pace and whether Ferrari’s dominance is for real or not.

2017 F1 Russian GP Free Practice 3:

Cla Driver Chassis Engine Laps Time Gap
1 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari Ferrari 17 1’34.001
2 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari Ferrari 16 1’34.338 0.337
3 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes Mercedes 20 1’34.364 0.363
4 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Mercedes 19 1’34.542 0.541
5 Max Verstappen Red Bull TAG 21 1’35.452 1.451
6 Felipe Massa Williams Mercedes 17 1’35.471 1.470
7 Nico Hulkenberg Renault Renault 15 1’35.662 1.661
8 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull TAG 24 1’35.830 1.829
9 Carlos Sainz Jr. Toro Rosso Renault 20 1’36.164 2.163
10 Kevin Magnussen Haas Ferrari 19 1’36.556 2.555
11 Lance Stroll Williams Mercedes 19 1’36.649 2.648
12 Esteban Ocon Force India Mercedes 22 1’36.676 2.675
13 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso Renault 18 1’36.846 2.845
14 Fernando Alonso McLaren Honda 12 1’36.869 2.868
15 Sergio Perez Force India Mercedes 21 1’36.962 2.961
16 Romain Grosjean Haas Ferrari 20 1’37.164 3.163
17 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren Honda 15 1’37.182 3.181
18 Marcus Ericsson Sauber Ferrari 21 1’37.503 3.502
19 Pascal Wehrlein Sauber Ferrari 17 1’37.657 3.656
20 Jolyon Palmer Renault Renault 4

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *