2017 Spanish GP Qualifying: Hamilton takes his third pole of the season

Lewis Hamilton took pole for the 2017 F1 Spanish Grand Prix with a time that was 0.051 seconds faster than Sebastian Vettel!

Hamilton will start ahead of the pack for race day tomorrow ahead of Vettel and teammate Bottas. Raikkonen isn’t far behind in fourth, with not much to split the top four. Alonso also got a good start to his home grand prix and will start 7th on the grid.

Here is the qualifying action as it happened, session by session.


There was a slight scare for Ferrari at the start of Q1 as Vettel was asked to stop the car while out on track which would have ended his qualifying bid then and there itself. But luckily the engineers were able to do something and Vettel continued on his run and set a competitive time to move into Q2. Hamilton set the fastest time with Raikkonen splitting the two Mercedes coming in second fastest ahead of Bottas and Vettel.

Alonso and Wehrlein managed to punch above their weight with the cars they have and made it into Q2 while their teammates weren’t that lucky. Sainz the other Spanish driver on the grid also had a good Q1 comfortably making it to the next stage of qualifying in 8th, but Kvyat couldn’t replicate the same result. The two Haas cars also did a strong qualifying, their new spec Ferrari engines helping Grosjean move to Q2 7th fastest.

Drivers eliminated after Q1 were Ericcsson, Palmer, Stroll, Vandoorne and Kvyat.


The second session of qualifying had fewer drama with it being a straightforward one. Main highlight of the session was Alonso’s lap that moved him into Q3, the first time this season! Something for McLaren and Honda to cheer at last after all the flak they receive. Fellow Spaniard Sainz wasn’t so lucky though. Massa maintained his consistency and kept his streak of getting into Q3 in all races so far. Haas weren’t so lucky with Grosjean making a mistake in his flying lap costing him a position in the top ten.

Drivers eliminated after Q2 were Magnussen, Sainz, Hulkenberg, Grosjean and Wehrlein.


The final standoff between Mercedes and Ferrari took place in Q3 and Hamilton managed to edge out Vettel by tenths of a second to take pole. Bottas will start third followed by Raikkonen, the top four separated by small margins. Alonso managed to pull off a great and will start 7th on the grid ahead of the midfield pack. Verstappen outqualified Ricciardo to take 5th. Massa, Perez and Ocon take the rest of the positions.

A different driver has won the Spanish Grand Prix for the last ten times, will we see the tradition be repeated in 2017? Bottas might like this statistic and will hope to extend his number of wins.

2017 F1 Spanish Grand Prix Qualifying Results

1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Mercedes 1’19.149
2 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari Ferrari 1’19.200 0.051
3 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes Mercedes 1’19.373 0.224
4 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari Ferrari 1’19.439 0.290
5 Max Verstappen Red Bull TAG 1’19.706 0.557
6 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull TAG 1’20.175 1.026
7 Fernando Alonso McLaren Honda 1’21.048 1.899
8 Sergio Perez Force India Mercedes 1’21.070 1.921
9 Felipe Massa Williams Mercedes 1’21.232 2.083
10 Esteban Ocon Force India Mercedes 1’21.272 2.123
11 Kevin Magnussen Haas Ferrari 1’21.329 2.180
12 Carlos Sainz Jr. Toro Rosso Renault 1’21.371 2.222
13 Nico Hulkenberg Renault Renault 1’21.397 2.248
14 Romain Grosjean Haas Ferrari 1’21.517 2.368
15 Pascal Wehrlein Sauber Ferrari 1’21.803 2.654
16 Marcus Ericsson Sauber Ferrari 1’22.332 3.183
17 Jolyon Palmer Renault Renault 1’22.401 3.252
18 Lance Stroll Williams Mercedes 1’22.411 3.262
19 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren Honda 1’22.532 3.383
20 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso Renault 1’22.746 3.597

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *